HOME
fr
fr


Fox Infographie
About       The News       The blog       Gallery       Favorites   

The 4/01 BLOG by Michèle Béguin
Haridwar, gate to salvation



In Dev Bhoomi from Dev Prayag to Haridwar and Har ki Pauri.

  michele-beguin-blog
In the land of God, from the divine confluent and the birth of Ganga to the gate towards the Lord and the steps of the Divinity.

  michele-beguin-blog
Birth of Ganga from the Alaknanda and the Bhagirathi rivers meeting in Dev Prayag. The Bhagirathi with muddy waters and the Alaknanda with light emerald green water, there Ganga is taking its birth with light green waters...

Haridwar as old as time, is a fascinating place at the foothills of the Shivalik mountains in the Himalayas range with the river Ganga flowing through the city. It is the gateway to Lord Vishnu, Haridwar city of Vishnu -Hari -but also of Shiva -Har Har Mahadev- offers to free you from the eternal cycle of life and death and also if you bathe in Ganga's waters, to wash away your sins.

  michele-beguin-blog
Indians taking a bath in the Ganges to wash their sins.

It is the place where people come to immerse the ashes of their close ones who passed away, and it is also here that the ceremonies of Shraad, those yearly two weeks of rituals in memory of the departed souls are performed.
Religious and historical, Haridwar is dear to the hearts of Hindus since. always.

  michele-beguin-blog

  michele-beguin-blog
The Ganges flows through the city and the Ghats are both sides. Pilgrims leaving the office of an astrologer near Ganga river.



  michele-beguin-blog
Here a shop where one finds everything a pilgrim needs.

  michele-beguin-blog

  michele-beguin-blog

  michele-beguin-blog
Streets of the old Haridwar with its fast food restaurants and pilgrims.

As per the Hindu mythology, "Haridwar dates back to the time when Brahma was creating the world". But it is because the gods and demons churned the ocean to get the lost nectar of immortality that the city became one of few most holiest cities of India-Bharat. When Garuda carried the pot of Amrit, he dropped a bit of the nectar at this particular spot, making it a place for eternal salvation. Since that episode, Haridwar is one of the seven sacred places of pilgrimage and one of the four places chosen for the Kumbh Mela.

The Kumbh Mela in Haridwar. Here Sadhus
  michele-beguin-blog
on the ghats. It is the biggest show of the world with all its exuberance and utterly incredible Sadhus' fantasies....

  michele-beguin-blog

The Kumbh Mela is a sea of pilgrims who come to take a dip into Ganga Mà. It is a convergence of energies, untamable masses of people who come in groups to wash their sins and get liberation from the infernal cycle of life and death.

  michele-beguin-blog

  michele-beguin-blog


Kanwar Yatra every year by the month of Shravan. A more and more popular pilgrimage to get Ganga Jaal to pour on the idol in the Shiva temple of their locality and keep some for great rituals. Haridwar is no doubt the place choking with the number of kanwarias. Unfortunately, nowadays, violence and turmoil have started for that festival.

It is also said that Lord Vishnu - Hari- left his foot print in Haridwar, one more reason to make the place holiest among holy.

The city was prosperous around 1200 to 1700 BC as we can see with the terracotta pieces found at this place and now in museum. It is in the Mahabharata that we find the most ancient mention of the city as well as the names of the sage Dhaumya, Yudhisthira of the five Pandavas as well as Sage Kapila and Agastya Muni had their ashram here.

Then came the Mauryans who ruled here from 322 to 185 BC, followed by the Kushans from the 1st and 2nd AD. Some other famous kings in the Indian history like Harshvardhan 590 to 647 AD did rule the place too.

Then some more violent character like Timur Lang overran the city from Central Asia. Guru Nanak, the peaceful and first Sikh Guru came over and bathed at the Kushwan Ghat before leaving for his pilgrimage.

Some great personalities of Rajasthan like Maharaja Man Singh of Amber   michele-beguin-blog


restored the Ghats and the famous Har ki Pauri.   michele-beguin-blog
Aarti at Har ki Pauri.

When Haridwar came under Mughal rule, its name was then Mayapur and the Emperor Akbar is said to have been fond of drinking the water of Ganga. He is also credited with establishing a copper coin mint in this area.

The British arrived in the 1800s and built the Bhimgoda Dam by 1840 AD and the Municipality of Haridwar was officially created around 1868 which was more or less the time a railway line was also laid.

After independence, the growth of pilgrims to the Char dham in Uttarakhand, Haridwar gained in importance as the entry point to these pilgrimage sites, Yamunotri, Gangotri, Kedarnath, Badrinath.

If the city is of great importance to devotees of Vishnu and Shiva, it is also equally important for the worship of Shakti since it is the site where the navel of Goddess Sati fell while Shiva was transporting her body into the cosmos. That place is now symbolized by the Maya Devi Temple, possibly dated to the 11th century or may have be even earlier.

Besides that dense historical and religious past, one should not forget that Bhagirath, thanks to his penance, brought down the Ganges from Heavens to the Earth and people can cleanse their sins here in Har Ki Pauri, freeing themselves from the cycle of life and death to attain Moksha, the ultimate goal.

Haridwar is also remarkable for the priests-genealogists, called Pandas   michele-beguin-blog
Panda writing the latest addition to the chronology of a family. They are specialized by communities and regions of India.

They can be met on the ghats, near Hari ki Pauri and also in the old market where they have some quarters there to dispense their knowledge.

  michele-beguin-blog
Here in the old market, the Pandas are sitting and handle some post cremation ceremony

There are also several religious towns where we can find the same professionals like Allahabad, Kurukshetra, Peohwa, Jawalamukhi, Chintpurni, Varanasi, Trimbakeshwar, Tarakeshwar. These genealogists are of good help if one wants to trace the past of the family which can be traced up to more than seven generations. In the past anybody coming to Haridwar for a post cremation ceremony or Shraad was updating the information to the family Pandit of the place he was from.

  michele-beguin-blog
Man with the ashes of a parent in the red bag.

They officiate near Har Ki Pauri just under the bridge up to the time of Aarti which is the last moment of the day, dispelling all kinds of darkness with the light offered to the Divine. All those datas are still hand written on huge books -Bahis or Vahis- They are the memory and History of the families.

  michele-beguin-blog
Vahis kept on the table the whole day, according to the need of the Panda.

  michele-beguin-blog
Room where all the Vahis are kept by the end of the day. Panda writing the latest information delivered by a customer on this huge book :a bahi/vahi.

  michele-beguin-blog
On the ghats, some Pandits are offering the purification with the burning flame against a minor contribution.

Haridwar is also very famous for its Ashrams. The basic meaning is a traditional place where one learns Hindu philosophy and the disciplines related to it. But with the western influence and its celebrities some Ashrams elsewhere are more towards a teaching designed for foreign life and that fashion of living. Haridwar is more Hindu oriented and provides more traditional kind of places made for the help of the Indian laymen. They teach different disciplines but also have health care at minimal prices, are away from all sophistication of all kinds and do not play on big renown names. It is all very simple. The people are either living in the Ashram or in town and have their daily duty in the organization or are just visiting when they want.

Sadhus coming to get food offered by an Ashram.   michele-beguin-blog


  michele-beguin-blog
Ashram students have to serve food

  michele-beguin-blog
twice a day to the Sadhus and Sadhvis. Sadhvi also taken care by the charitable organizations.

  michele-beguin-blog
Sadhus leaving the Ashram after meals.

  michele-beguin-blog
Sadhus and Sadhvi are served by young students of the Ashram Gurukul.

Charity is a base of the Hindu way of life and some Ashrams are organizing daily food distribution for the people who renounced the material world like Sadhus. The food products are usually offered by big organizations and other donators, cooked in the Ashram kitchen and served by the students of the Gurukul of the Ashram. The notion of "service" has a different and humble connotation here! To curb one's ego is important...

  michele-beguin-blog
A passerby has offered food to this man.This altruism is strong in Hinduism.

If you come to Haridwar to see beautiful works of Art, then you are not in the right place, but if you come to Haridwar to witness the beauty of what Hinduism can be, then you are at the right place.


signature michele beguin

A Propos de Michèle Béguin

CNIL:1050096 2004 © Michèle Béguin

HOME
fr
fr


Fox Infographie
A Propos     Les News     Le-Blog     Galeries      Coup-de-Coeur   

The 4/01 BLOG de Michèle Béguin
Haridwar, porte du salut



Dans Dev Bhoomi de Dev Prayag à Haridwar et Har ki Pauri.

  michele-beguin-blog
Dans le pays de Dieu, du confluent divin et de la naissance de Ganga à la porte vers le Seigneur et les marches de la Divinité.

  michele-beguin-blog
Naissance de Ganga de la rencontre des rivières Alaknanda et Bhagirathi à Dev Prayag. Le Bhagirathi aux eaux boueuses et l'Alaknanda aux eaux vert émeraude clair, là Ganga prend naissance avec des eaux vert clair ...

Haridwar, vieux comme le temps, est un endroit fascinant au pied des montagnes Shivalik dans la chaîne de l'Himalaya avec la rivière Ganga qui traverse la ville. C'est la porte d'entrée de Lord Vishnu, la ville de Haridwar de Vishnu -Hari -mais aussi de Shiva -Har Har Mahadev- propose de vous libérer du cycle éternel de la vie et de la mort et aussi si vous vous baignez dans les eaux de Ganga, pour laver vos péchés .

  michele-beguin-blog
Les Indiens prennent un bain dans le Gange pour laver leurs péchés.

C'est l'endroit où les gens viennent plonger les cendres de leurs proches décédés, et c'est aussi ici que se déroulent les cérémonies de Shraad, ces deux semaines annuelles de rituels à la mémoire des âmes défuntes. Religieuse et historique, Haridwar est chère au cœur des hindous depuis. toujours.

  michele-beguin-blog

  michele-beguin-blog
Le Gange traverse la ville et les Ghats sont des deux côtés. Pèlerins quittant le bureau d'un astrologue près de la rivière Ganga.



  michele-beguin-blog
Here a shop where one finds everything a pilgrim needs.

Voici une boutique où l'on trouve tout ce dont un pèlerin a besoin. Rues du vieux Haridwar avec ses restaurants fast-food et ses pèlerins. Selon la mythologie hindoue, "Haridwar remonte à l'époque où Brahma créait le monde". Mais c'est parce que les dieux et les démons barattaient l'océan pour obtenir le nectar perdu de l'immortalité que la ville est devenue l'une des rares villes les plus sacrées de l'Inde-Bharat. Lorsque Garuda a porté le pot d'Amrit, il a laissé tomber un peu de nectar à cet endroit particulier, ce qui en fait un lieu de salut éternel. Depuis cet épisode, Haridwar est l'un des sept lieux de pèlerinage sacrés et l'un des quatre lieux choisis pour le Kumbh Mela.

  michele-beguin-blog

  michele-beguin-blog

  michele-beguin-blog
Le Kumbh Mela à Haridwar. Voici Sadhus

  michele-beguin-blog
sur les ghats. C'est le plus grand spectacle du monde avec toute son exubérance et les fantasmes de Sadhus absolument incroyables ....

  michele-beguin-blog

Le Kumbh Mela est une mer de pèlerins qui viennent se baigner dans le Ganga Mà. C'est une convergence d'énergies, des masses indomptables de personnes qui viennent en groupe pour laver leurs péchés et se libérer du cycle infernal de la vie et de la mort.

  michele-beguin-blog

  michele-beguin-blog


Kanwar Yatra chaque année au mois de Shravan. Un pèlerinage de plus en plus populaire pour amener Ganga Jaal à verser l'idole dans le temple Shiva de leur localité et à en garder pour de grands rituels. Haridwar est sans aucun doute l'endroit étouffant avec le nombre de kanwarias. Malheureusement, de nos jours, la violence et les troubles ont commencé pour ce festival.

On dit également que Lord Vishnu - Hari - a laissé son empreinte à Haridwar, une raison de plus pour rendre l'endroit le plus saint parmi les saints.

La ville était prospère vers 1200 à 1700 avant JC comme on peut le voir avec les pièces en terre cuite trouvées à cet endroit et maintenant au musée. C'est dans le Mahabharata que l'on trouve la mention la plus ancienne de la ville ainsi que les noms du sage Dhaumya, Yudhisthira des cinq Pandavas ainsi que Sage Kapila et Agastya Muni avaient leur ashram ici.

Viennent ensuite les Mauryans qui ont régné ici de 322 à 185 avant JC, suivis des Kushans à partir du 1er et du 2e après JC. Certains autres rois célèbres de l'histoire indienne comme Harshvardhan 590 à 647 après JC ont également régné sur l'endroit.

Puis un personnage plus violent comme Timur Lang a envahi la ville d'Asie centrale. Guru Nanak, le paisible et premier Sikh Guru est venu et s'est baigné au Kushwan Ghat avant de partir pour son pèlerinage.

Quelques grandes personnalités du Rajasthan comme le Maharaja Man Singh d'Amber ont restauré les Ghats et le célèbre Har ki Pauri.

  michele-beguin-blog


  michele-beguin-blog


Aarti à Har ki Pauri.


Lorsque Haridwar passa sous la domination moghole, son nom était alors Mayapur et l'empereur Akbar aurait aimé boire l'eau de Ganga. Il est également crédité d'avoir établi une pièce de monnaie en cuivre dans ce domaine.

Les Britanniques sont arrivés dans les années 1800 et ont construit le barrage de Bhimgoda en 1840 après JC et la municipalité de Haridwar a été officiellement créée vers 1868, ce qui était plus ou moins le moment où une ligne de chemin de fer a également été posée.

Après l'indépendance, la croissance des pèlerins au Char dham dans l'Uttarakhand, Haridwar a gagné en importance comme point d'entrée à ces sites de pèlerinage, Yamunotri, Gangotri, Kedarnath, Badrinath.

Si la ville est d'une grande importance pour les fidèles de Vishnu et de Shiva, elle est également importante pour le culte de Shakti car c'est le site où le nombril de la déesse Sati est tombé pendant que Shiva transportait son corps dans le cosmos. Cet endroit est maintenant symbolisé par le temple Maya Devi, peut-être daté du 11ème siècle ou peut-être même plus tôt.

Outre ce passé historique et religieux dense, il ne faut pas oublier que Bhagirath, grâce à sa pénitence, a fait descendre le Gange des cieux sur la Terre et que les gens peuvent nettoyer leurs péchés ici à Har Ki Pauri, se libérant ainsi du cycle de la vie et de la mort. pour atteindre Moksha, le but ultime.

Haridwar est également remarquable pour les prêtres-généalogistes, appelés Pandas

  michele-beguin-blog


Panda écrivant le dernier ajout à la chronologie d'une famille. Ils sont spécialisés par les communautés et les régions de l'Inde.

Ils peuvent être rencontrés sur les ghats, près de Hari ki Pauri et également dans l'ancien marché où ils ont des quartiers pour dispenser leurs connaissances.

  michele-beguin-blog
Homme avec les cendres d'un parent dans le sac rouge.

Ils officient près de Har Ki Pauri juste sous le pont jusqu'au temps d'Aarti qui est le dernier moment de la journée, dissipant toutes sortes d'obscurité avec la lumière offerte au Divin. Toutes ces données sont encore écrites à la main sur d'énormes livres -Bahis ou Vahis- Ils sont la mémoire et l'histoire des familles.

  michele-beguin-blog


Vahis a gardé sur la table toute la journée, selon les besoins du Panda.

  michele-beguin-blog
Salle où tous les Vahis sont gardés en fin de journée. Panda écrit les dernières informations fournies par un client sur cet énorme livre: un bahi / vahi.

  michele-beguin-blog


Sur les ghats, certains Pandits offrent la purification avec la flamme brûlante contre une contribution mineure.

Haridwar est également très célèbre pour ses ashrams. La signification de base est un lieu traditionnel où l'on apprend la philosophie hindoue et les disciplines qui y sont liées. Mais avec l'influence occidentale et ses célébrités, certains ashrams ailleurs sont davantage tournés vers un enseignement conçu pour la vie étrangère et ce mode de vie. Haridwar est plus orienté hindou et propose des lieux plus traditionnels conçus pour aider les laïcs indiens. Ils enseignent différentes disciplines mais ont également des soins de santé à des prix minimes, sont loin de toute sophistication de toutes sortes et ne jouent pas sur de grands noms. C'est très simple. Les gens vivent dans l'Ashram ou en ville et ont leur devoir quotidien dans l'organisation ou visitent simplement quand ils veulent.

Sadhus venant chercher de la nourriture offerte par un Ashram.

  michele-beguin-blog
Les étudiants de l'Ashram doivent servir de la nourriture

  michele-beguin-blog


deux fois par jour aux Sadhus et Sadhvis. Sadhvi a également été pris en charge par les organisations caritatives.
  michele-beguin-blog


Sadhus quittant l'Ashram après les repas.

  michele-beguin-blog


Sadhus et Sadhvi sont servis par de jeunes étudiants de l'Ashram Gurukul. La charité est une base du mode de vie hindou et certains ashrams organisent une distribution quotidienne de nourriture pour les personnes qui ont renoncé au monde matériel comme Sadhus. Les produits alimentaires sont généralement offerts par de grandes organisations et autres donateurs, cuisinés dans la cuisine de l'Ashram et servis par les étudiants des Gurukul de l'Ashram. La notion de «service» a ici une connotation différente et humble! Il est important de limiter son ego ...

  michele-beguin-blog


Un passant a offert de la nourriture à cet homme. Cet altruisme est fort dans l'hindouisme.

  michele-beguin-blog


Si vous venez à Haridwar pour voir de belles œuvres d'art, alors vous n'êtes pas au bon endroit, mais si vous venez à Haridwar pour assister à la beauté de ce que l'hindouisme peut être, alors vous êtes au bon endroit.

  michele-beguin-blog



signature michele beguin

A Propos de Michèle Béguin

CNIL:1050096 2004 © Michèle Béguin